Recipe: Tomato Sandwiches, and Four Recipe Reviews

Hello, friends! Life’s been busy since I last posted, but I still have some recipes to share!

Tomato Sandwiches

I don’t remember where I originally saw this recipe, but they’ve become an easy and tasty part of our regular rotation. (This is a variation on whatever the official recipe was. Very easy to adapt to your own taste.)

You’ll need a baguette, a good-sized tomato, mozzarella (preferably a block, but shredded will do), salt/pepper, a little olive oil, basil, oregano, and your favorite spices.

First, determine how much of a baguette you think each person will eat. You could go sub-sandwich length as a starting point, and then guess from there whether you need more or less. Put what you don’t need of the baguette in the freezer for another time. Cut the remainder into the lengths you want, and then slice them open butterfly-style. Bake them for a few minutes to get them warm.

Meanwhile, slice up a tomato and enough mozzarella to cover one half of the baguette. (You can use shredded, but we’ve decided we like the sliced better.)

Once the bread is warm, remove it from the oven. Drizzle or brush the insides of the sandwich with olive oil. Then cover one side of the sandwich with tomato slices, and the other side with cheese. Sprinkle salt and pepper over the tomato. Add basil, oregano, parmesan, or whatever spices you like.

Bake the sandwiches open-faced for a few minutes until the cheese melts and the tomato warms up. Then broil until the cheese browns.

And here are a few recipes I’ve tried over the past two weeks:

  • Chicken and Mushroom Marsala from Smitten Kitchen: A-/B+. Really liked the mushroom sauce, but my chicken came out kind of dry. I’d try again.
  • Twice-Baked Potatoes from Martha Stewart: B. This is the second time I’ve made this recipe (making a lot and freezing them is very handy — great idea, Mom!), but they’re still not flavorful enough for me. I’m going to look for another recipe (well, ask my mom for hers, anyway).
  • Pork and Rice from afternoon popcorn snack: A-/B+. Yummy and easy. Ended up with more rice than I probably needed and it was unevenly flavored, but I blame myself as I used lukewarm water and chicken bouillon instead of actual stock. Also, I used white rice as it was what I had, and cooked it for 15 minutes less, but it was pretty mushy. I’d try half an hour less than the recipe calls for next time, or use brown rice.
  • Barbecue Chicken Sliders from Tami’s Kitchen Table Talk, as recommended by (I think…) Smitten Kitchen: A. Mindlessly easy: Put chicken and barbecue sauce in crock pot. Serve on crusty rolls with provolone. Yum. I think the recipe called for hot sauce or some other ingredient, but I skipped it. I wouldn’t have thought to put provolone on them, but it was a good addition.

What are you cooking lately?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

