Stocking up the freezer!

My lovely husband hauled home our new chest freezer late last month. It makes a wonderful addition to our downstairs bathroom, which had an awkward blank spot that is exactly freezer-shaped.

Having a freezer means I don’t have to worry so much about what will fit in the freezing compartment. It means I can buy fresh, local/in-season produce and save it up for when it’s no longer in-season.

I’m new to freezing, mostly, and my vegetable repertoire still isn’t fantastic, so what I’ve been up to probably doesn’t hold a candle to many people’s stocks. Freezing is kind of taking a back seat to making baby food, too, though it also goes hand-in-hand at times.

So far, in the freezer:

  • Strawberries
  • Raspberries
  • Blueberries
  • Cherries
  • A few peaches
  • Corn off the cob

Baby food:

  • Peaches
  • Green beans
  • Squash
  • Carrots and sweet potatoes are next

The freezer fruit will probably end up mostly as smoothies. Maybe it’s not saving me all that much money in the end, but it makes me feel really accomplished to have it done.

I haven’t tried my hand at any canning. The only thing I think I might use is tomatoes.

What do you freeze or can?

Leave a comment

Filed under Feeding Babies, Recipes, Saving Money

Leave a Reply

